Some Challenges of Oral History

Doing oral history can be a lot harder than it sounds sometimes . Whenever I describe what I’m doing at the museum, it sounds fairly straight forward. I interview the person, then write down what they what. But what if you don’t understand what the interviewee is saying? I found this happened several times during the semester especially because sometimes my interviewees would use Swedish words or phrases during the interview. Since I am not fluent in Swedish this became a pretty big problem. In order to solve this problem, it was imperative that I had a follow up interview asking the interviewee what the phrase meant and how it was supposed to be spelled. I thought it might be interesting to share some of the words and phrases I learned how to pronounce and spell. They are sorted into certain categories.

FOOD

Sylta- a specific course in Christmas Eve smorgasbord. There are two types of syltas, pres sylta and kalv sylta.

Filbunke- a type of Swedish yogurt that is similar to Greek yogurt

Risgrynsgrot- rice porridge

SWEDISH TOWNS

Fiskelbackskil

Lulea

Angesbyn

Danderyd

Boden

 

I hope you had fun trying to pronounce some of those words. With all of these challenging words to figure out, I thought I would pick up a treat form the Swedish Bakery down the street as a reward.

 

Image

__ATA.cmd.push(function() { __ATA.initVideoSlot('atatags-370373-663fb5b1c32ca', { sectionId: '370373', format: 'inread' }); });

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.